Cheers for Penedés!

Last summer I decided to check mark an activity I always wanted to do: visit a Spanish vineyard. Spain has always been well renown for it´s excellent wines and there are many regions around it´s territory; La Rioja, Ribera del Duero, Navarra and Jerez are some of the most well-known, but since I am in Catalonia I decided to start with Penedés.

The entire Penedés region comprehends the Upper, Central and Lower Penedés. Although this D.O. owes it´s fame to the cava production, white and red wines are also amazing! 

I visited 3 wineries: Jean León, Bodegas Torres and Freixenet. Each one of them had it´s own enchantment, flavour, smell and of course, history.

Jean León was the first visit. I have to say it was quite disconcerting for me as the tour started at 9 AM. Too early for wine tasting! Even though, the experience was amazing. The wines are kept in an underground cellar, and aged in French and American oak barrels, vineyards (divided by grape variety) surround the winery all over and the landscape is amazing. It was a short visit but very well explained. It finished with a wine tasting of Chardonnay, Merlot y Cabernet. Better impossible.

Next stop was Bodegas Torres. This was the one I was more excited about, and it was definitively my favorite. The visit consisted in a tour all over the winery on a truck (a kind of Disneyland transport). Headphones were provided to every one of us and we had an extremely well explained tour while driving around. Finally we had a wine tasting of three wines (Viña Esmeralda, Atrium, Celeste) with a marriage of cheese which was directed by an enologist.    

Finally it was Freixenet, famous for it´s cava. It consisted on a walking tour inside the winery which ended with another truck ride. You could observe many bottles had exploded as the pressure of this sparkling wine sometimes exceeds. Finally, cava tasting; Brut Rosé and Brut Nature Reserva (I got cava spilled all over me, but some people say it´s good luck though!) with ham, pantomate and Spanish tortilla. An amazing way to finish the wine route.

At the end of my tour, you can imagine my condition, I went back home and slept. Anyway I woke up remembering the great experience this was and how much worth it is to visit a vineyard while being in Spain.

Every time I taste wine I find it fascinating, the pleasures of each different scent, it´s flavor, the color and movement, are just a small part of the wine culture which has gained more interest in the past years.

I urge you to let yourself be seduced by the world of wine…

2 thoughts on “Cheers for Penedés!

  1. Pingback: Catalonia’s red wine secrets

  2. Pingback: Finding Elyssia (Tyler/Sadie romance) | The Blog That Made No Sense

Leave a Reply

