Mexican fashion

Cañamiel store

Cañamiel store

I consider myself one of the biggest fans of my beloved Mexico. I not only find it as one of the most beautiful countries, but I also admire its culture and history, love its food and certainly have admiration for outstanding Mexicans.

Since I introduced myself into the fashion field several years ago, I´ve witnessed how many local brands, designers and businesses emerged. Some of them are now nonexistent and others are outstanding. However, it was this last August on my visit to Mexico that I was really impressed and mostly happy to see what Mexico has to offer.

Gala is love earcuff

Gala is love earcuff

Alexia Ulibarri blazer

Alexia Ulibarri blazer

This Made in Mexico obsession starts at Cañamiel, one of my favorite stores and a must in every fashionistas wardrobe. It offers a multi-brand range of products from Latin designers that goes from accessories to clothing. At this store I bought a “Gala is Love” earcuff, which was an instant crush, from Mexican designer Michell Galindo. Also, I bought an amazing leather + laces blazer from “Alexia Ulibarri“, whom I’ve witnessed several times during Fashion week and also whom I’ve personally admire for her talent.

Other of my latest designer-musts is Artemiza Cruz, founder of La Vill”. Taking special care in details and expressing her outgoing personality through her designs, Artemiza is an upcoming talent who has presented her collection in Cannes and New York. In her client list you can spot several Mexican celebrities as well as fashion personalities, always looking for a different touch when styling their outfits.

Artemiza Cruz, founder of La Vill

Artemiza Cruz, founder of La Vill

My last obsession comes directly from a pencil and a paper…literally. You might remember a few posts ago I expressed how much I adore fashion illustrations. Well, I was lucky to find myself with Sophia Jaimes, an illustrator who makes her passion out of fashion and whom her hands express what her eyes can’t speak.

Styling, designing or illustrating…aren’t this all different ways of representing fashion? Mexico knows they are.

Me

Me

 

Illustration by Sophia Jaimes

Illustration by Sophia Jaimes

One thought on “Mexican fashion

Leave a Reply

